Did you Know Seven Types of Americans Are Not Eligible for Social Security Benefits?

Yes, it’s difficult to believe that not everyone in America gets social security.

While it’s rare, it does happen.

There are, in fact, seven categories of workers who aren’t eligible for social security benefits. And it’s better to secure an alternative income source if you fall in one of these categories.

1. Dying Young, Before 62

retirement benefit

Workers need to be at least 62 to start receiving social security retirement benefits. The dependent children and spouses of workers who die young are entitled to survivor benefits.

However, the amount they receive depends on the deceased employee’s earnings record and age at retirement.

2. Some Divorced Spouses

Divorced spouses can claim social security benefits based on their ex-spouse’s earnings.

They, however, have to be single, earn fewer benefits than their spouse, and be aged 62 or more.
However, they will not receive benefits if their marriage lasted less than ten years.

3. Some Government and Railroad Employees

social security

Some jobs don’t pay into social security, so social security taxes aren’t deducted from their paychecks. These workers are thus ineligible to receive social security benefits.
They, however, qualify if they earn benefits through a spouse or a second job. Social security doesn’t cover some railroad employees too.
The Railroad Retirement Board covers the retirement benefits of railroad employees who worked for at least a decade in the industry.
Employees with fewer than ten years of service do not receive RRB retirement benefits.
Instead, their accounts are transferred to social security, and they receive benefits upon meeting social security requirements.

4. Too Few Social Security Credits

According to the Social Security Administration, you need to earn 40 social security credits to qualify for benefits. And an average worker earns 40 credits with about ten years of work.
Earned credits don’t expire.
So if you leave the workforce with nearly 40 credits, you can return and work to earn the required credits to qualify.

5. Retirement in Some Foreign Countries

social security

It is generally okay for US citizens to receive their benefits even if they travel and live in most foreign countries. However, they don’t receive benefits if they retire in Cuba, Kazakhstan, Belarus, Azerbaijan, Cuba, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistani, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Moldova, or North Korea.
There are exceptions in all these countries except Cuba and North Korea. Your Glendale social security benefits attorney will be able to guide you about these exceptions.

6. Some Noncitizens

Noncitizens with 40 US social security credits will receive their benefits. Even immigrants with insufficient US credits hailing from a country the US has social security agreements with, social security requirements qualify for benefits.
This arrangement helps older immigrants who can’t accumulate ten years of work in the US before retiring. However, they have to have earned at least six U.S. credits to claim benefits.

7. Self-Employees Who Evade Tax

social security

The self-employed pay self-employment tax. It compensates for their and the employer’s social security contributions while filing federal tax returns.

However, those who don’t file tax returns do not pay social security taxes. So you won’t receive payouts if you haven’t reported income and evaded taxes all your life.

Generally, all American employees receive social security benefits when they retire, as long as they meet the requirements of social security.

These are the seven circumstances where a US employee won’t be able to receive their benefits.
Don’t lose hope if you belong to one of them.
Your social security benefits attorney in Glendale will be able to help. They are well aware of these categories and will know if there’s a provision for you.
The quicker you turn to them for guidance and assistance, the shorter the delay in receiving your benefits.

Scroll to top